experience the enchantment

The Bruce Kroken Memorial Scholarship

The Bruce Kroken Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually by the Albuquerque Concert Band to encourage band students to continue their involvement in instrumental music performance at the college level. This $1000 prize honors the memory of Bruce Kroken who was a long time member and conductor of the ACB as well as was Director of Bands at both Manzano HS and Desert Ridge MS. The recipient shall present a solo performance at a concert with the Albuquerque Concert Band.

Applicants for this scholarship must be active band members in the Albuquerque metropolitan area who are graduating seniors and planning to major in music during their college years. Also eligible are graduates of Albuquerque metropolitan area high schools who are planning to continue participating in a performance ensemble at a higher education school. The performance ensemble participation need not be as a major in music, but the recipient must continue to perform and grow as a musician.

The $1000 award is given to one student. In addition to the financial award, recipients shall perform a solo with the Albuquerque Concert Band during our April concert.

This page will be updated with details about the application, audition, and performance for the next Bruce Kroken Memorial Scholarship in January.

Maya Mueller wins the 2021 Kroken Memorial Scholarship

Maya Mueller

We are pleased to announce that Maya Mueller is the winner of the 2021 Bruce Kroken Memorial Scholarship. Maya is a student at Sue B. Cleveland High School and plays clarinet. Maya has studied with our own Mike Herrera! We're hoping to be able to work out an in person performance for Maya with the band as soon as that is possible. She will receive a $1000 scholarship for her participation in music ensembles at the college level.

Congratulations, Maya!

Past winners of the scholarship

  • 2021 - Maya Mueller, clarinet
  • 2020 - Isabella Moretti, flute
  • 2019 - Logan Giese, percussion
  • 2018 - Cole Sinanian, trumpet
  • 2017 - Alex Martinez, flute
  • 2016 - Jane Kelly, trumpet
  • 2015 - Mario Thompson, clarinet
  • 2014 - Derek Manteufel, tuba
  • 2013 - Matthew Koester, saxophone
  • 2012 - Joshua Pfeffer, french horn
  • 2011 - Linnea Rowley, oboe
  • 2010 - Katrina Clements, clarinet
  • 2009 - John Wise, flute, and Dakota Flint, saxophone